Colleagues in Collaboration


Cultural Consciousness and the Art of Teaching - An open Space for Sharing is now in collaboration with AWSNA DEI Forum. AWSNA will be hosting a space for processing the May 10 forum on Tuesday, May 17 at 4:30 PDT. Registration link is below.

TUESDAY, May 10

AWSNA DEI Pedagogical Landscape Research Series

12:30pm HT, 3:30pm PT, 4:30pm MT, 5:30pm CT, 6:30pm ET

Pre-register here: https://waldorfeducation.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcodeiuqjssGtSZi7MbHDrZM4wmNxm4zqPa

This space will house an opened dialog between colleagues.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings will be held one week after the AWSNA Forum. Please use the link above to register.

This Forum has been cancelled and is now in collaboration with the AWSNA DEI Pedagogical Landscape Research Series.

There is no charge to participate.

Heather Lovetree was born in West Seattle and raised in Port Townsend, WA. She discovered Waldorf Education while earning her BA in cultural anthropology at Hamilton College in Clinton, NY. After several years traveling and working with children she moved to New Hampshire to earn her MEd in Waldorf Education through Antioch University New England. She is now back in her home region, married and mothering two children while teaching 3rd grade at Sunfield Biodynamic Farm and Waldorf School in Port Hadlock, WA.

Kenya Strong finds her deepest joy in helping others reach their greatest potential. She carries all of her life experiences into her services to help her connect with her students and colleagues. She has a Masters degree in Education and a Waldorf certification. As a Certified Life Coach and consultant to support families adjusting to our shifting social paradigm, she brings more than twenty five years of teaching and service experience. During her Waldorf teaching years, Kenya founded and chaired her school’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee to help move her community into relevant and timely transformation. She continues her growth and work to bring equality and social justice to the forefront of education.

Betsy Weill, after finishing college, Betsy moved to the Northwest in 1979 and began workings as a student teacher in 1980 at the newly opened Seattle Waldorf school. She got a Washington Stare Teacher Certification and then went to Detroit to get Waldorf Training at the Waldorf Institute (now Sunbridge College). She returned to Seattle and started teaching a first grade back at the Seattle Waldorf School. After that eighth grade graduated, Betsy took some family time to have her own two children and then started a preschool out of her home: The Ragamuffins. That school adventure of 15 years also coincided with her being a cofounder of Sound Circle Center. She worked with pedagogy and administration, being a co-director of the grades teacher training until 2011, when she went back to teaching grade one at the Seattle Waldorf School. Betsy also has a Level One certification in Spacial Dynamics, having completed their five-year training. She is presently teaching Grade Five in Seattle.